Korea is partitioned by the Soviet Union and the United States on September 8, 1945

Picture on the left showing Closeup of the Korean Demilitarized Zone that surrounds the Military Demarcation Line. Text on the right saying: On September 8, 1945 Korea was partitioned into north and south by the US and the USSR (now Russia). On September 8, 1945 Korea was partitioned into north and south by the US and the USSR (now Russia). After Japan was defeated in WWII, allied leaders agreed that Korea would be liberated from Japan but would be placed under an international trusteeship until the Koreans would be deemed ready for self-rule. The country was partitioned with the north occupied by USSR and south occupied by USA until the trusteeship could be implemented. However, negotiations between USA and USSR regarding the trusteeship failed. UN-backed elections were held In the US-occupied southern half in 1948 and Syngman Rhee won the election, while Kim Il Sung consolidated his position as the leader of Soviet-occupied northern Korea. This led to the establishment of the Republic of Korea in southern Korea on 15 August 1948, followed by the establishment of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea in northern Korea on 9 September 1948. On 25 June 1950, North Korea invaded South Korea in an attempt to re-unify the peninsula under its communist rule. The subsequent Korean War, which lasted from 1950 to 1953, ended with a stalemate and has left Korea divided by the Korean Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) up to the present day.
Share this:

Division of Korea 1945 by 360 on History


I am a Chartered Environmentalist from the Royal Society for the Environment, UK and co-owner of DoLocal Digital Marketing Agency Ltd, with a Master of Environmental Management from Yale University, an MBA in Finance, and a Bachelor of Science in Physics and Mathematics. I am passionate about science, history and environment and love to create content on these topics.